“Clean Getaway” Receives Nominations For 30th Annual Blues Music Awards

December 16, 2008


Shanachie recording artist Curtis Salgado was nominated for four awards for the upcoming 30th annual Blues Awards. The honors, formerly known as the W.C. Handy Awards will be presented by the Memphis-based Blues Foundation May 7, 2009 at the Memphis Cook Convention Center.

“Clean Getaway” the new album by Salgado was nominated for Album of the Year as well as Soul Blues Album of the Year. 20 Years of B.B. King, written by Dave Duncan and Curtis Salgado, was nominated for Song of the Year and Salgado was also nominated for Soul Blues Male Artist of the Year.

Other multiple nominees include the west coast-based group The Mannish Boys, veteran guitar virtuoso Elvin Bishop, pianist Eden Brent, songstress Janiva Magness, and Watermelon Slim. Buddy Guy is nominated for three awards and B.B. King for two. For a complete list of the 30th Blues Music Awards Nominees please go to www.blues.org/bluesmusicawards/nominees.php

The awards ceremony and concert will be broadcast live by Sirius XM Satellite Radio’s B.B. King’s Bluesville channel. The Blues Music Awards will be shot in HD for a DVD to be released in the fall of 2009.

Awards are voted on by the 3,000-plus members of the Blues Foundation. You may register to become a member and vote for this years nominees by going to www.blues.org/bluesmusicawards/vote.php Voting is now open for members through March 1st, 2009.

The 2009 ceremony will follow the format of the sold-out and critically-acclaimed shows of recent years. More than 65 nominees are expected to attend with appearances and performances in a banquet setting in the Convention Center’s ballroom.

The event brings together Blues performers, industry representatives and fans from all over the world to celebrate the best in Blues recordings and performances from the previous year. Each year, the Foundation presents The Blues Music Awards to the artists selected by the vote of its members. They are universally recognized as the highest honor given to Blues artists.

For more information on The Blues Foundation and the Blues Music Awards, please contact Nick Loss-Eaton or Matt Hanks at Shore Fire Media, 718-522-7171. www.shorefire.com